School Board Considering the Elimination of Climate Change form Curriculum

 On Thursday, Dec. 6,  the Nebraska State Board of Education will be discussing the removal of curriculum requirements to teach high school students about climate change. This could be quite detrimental to our students. Allowing them to graduate without teaching them about climate change is going to limit their understanding about the effects our actions have on that change. 

Humans affect the planet in a myriad of ways and our students need to study, discuss, debate, and understand their environment in order to take the reigns as our future leaders. Climate change is part of a global conversation - one which will continue to dominate world issues. The conversation will take place with or without our students -we do them no favors by keeping them ignorant of the subject.

The Board is asking for feedback from Nebraska's educators, parents, and citizens. Please help your voice be heard by contacting the State Board of Education members and asking them to please keep climate change as part of the Geography requirements for our High School Students.

The vote will occur on Friday, Dec.7.  CONTACT THEM TODAY!

Here are the email addresses for school board members:

Robert Evnen: robert.evnen@nebraska.gov
Rebecca Valdez: valdezstateboard@gmail.com
Patricia Timm: patriciatimm04@gmail.com
Lynn Cronk: lynn.cronk@charter.net
Molly O'Holleran: molly.oholleran@gmail.com
John Sieler: john.sieler@nebraska.gov
Dr. Roger Breed (Commissioner of Education): roger.breed@nebraska.gov
Jim Scheer (President): jscheer@cableone.net
Mark Quandahl (Vice President): mquandahl@bqlaw.com

Add Comment

Comments

No Comments